How can I control what happens to log files when devices are deleted?

Adding and removing devices is a normal (and sometimes hectic) part of managing a network. We understand this and strive to make MetaAccess as easy as possible for users to onboard themselves (account associations are embedded in the installer) to minimize the burden on IT. Additionally, if a user uninstalls MetaAccess, we will automatically detect the event and remove the device from the account. With all of these devices coming and going, it can introduce noise into the management of logs. This situation doesn’t apply to everyone, but when it does it can be frustrating.

MetaAccess users can adjust the default behavior for log retention when a device is deleted. The default behavior is ‘Archive’, in which a deleted device’s logs are stored in MetaAccess for the duration of the data retention period (30 days for standard accounts, if you want to store data longer, please contact us for more details). The alternative option is ‘Purge’ mode, where a device deletion event causes all related log files in MetaAccess to be wiped out.

For the most flexibility, this setting is adjustable separately for managed and guest devices.

(1) Logs for device 'earaujo-wse' before deletion in 'Event Log' → 'Device Events'

images/download/attachments/336250/6.PNG

(2) Setting the retention mode to 'purge' in 'Settings > Global Settings > Device Data'

images/download/attachments/336250/5.PNG

Original blog post



This article applies to the MetaAccess product.
This article was last updated on 2017-09-29
EA