4.2. Properties & Membership

The Properties & Membership page lets you specify the name and description for a MetaDefender Kiosk workflow.
It also lets you manage the users or groups assigned to that workflow.
To be able to configure workflows with users, the Kiosk system must be part of the domain or be able to authenticate with a remote Active Directory.
To be able to configure workflows with groups, the Kiosk system must be able to authenticate with a remote Active Directory.

Each user or group can be assigned to multiple workflows but only one workflow is selected for a session.
See 9.1. Logging In on the User Authentication Screen for more details

When configured with AD authentication, the Available To Add section will display users and groups from all configured ADs. To reduce the loading duration, only 50 users/groups are loaded first, then the admin can scroll down to fetch users/groups. The admin can also specify an user/group to narrow the available data to add to wworkflow

To add users to the workflow:

  1. Select user(s) from the Available To Add section

  2. Click Add, user(s) appear in the Members section

To remove users from the workflow:

  1. Select user(s) from the Members section

  2. Click Remove, user(s) appear in the Available To Add section

To add groups to the workflow:

  1. Select group(s) from the Available To Add section

  2. Click Add , group(s) appear in the Groups section

To add groups to the workflow:

  1. Select group(s) from the Available To Add section

  2. Click Remove , group(s) appear in the Available To Add section

images/download/attachments/4075815/image2021-3-30_10-23-26.png

Note:

  • If there are connection issues with Active Directories, Kiosk might take longer to retrieve users and groups. The timeout for the user/group fetching from each AD is about 1 minute. The more ADs with connection issues, the longer the fetching is.

  • When an AD is not available at some time, the user belonging to a workflow is not able to log in Kiosk UI, the admin can check the application log to trouble shoot any login failure in this case.

  • When an user is removed from AD, the workflow is not synced up with that removal. The admin must remove that user from the workflow.