3.8.1 Users and Groups

In the Users and Groups menu, users can add or remove user and group (Active Directories only), reset PIN and password for individual users, and perform role reassignment.

To access the Users and Groups menu, navigate to User Management sidebar and select the corresponding tab.
images/download/attachments/39348816/image2019-10-2_9-43-5.png

There are 3 categories of user types:

  • Local: Individual users originally created in the OPSWAT Central Management console. The administrator user created in the configuration wizard is designated the master account and cannot be modified (please refer to Configuration wizard for more information).

  • Active Directory User: Individual users stored on an Active Directory server.

  • Active Directory Group: Groups (as defined by the Active Directory service) of one or more users stored on an Active Directory server.

The Actions drop-down menu contain various user management features. Tick the checkboxes in the user entries that require modifications.
Select Reset Pin or Reset Password and then select Reset in the pop-up dialog to reset the selected users' PIN or password to a randomly generated one. For password, the user will be prompted to change their password at their next login after using the temporary password.

images/download/attachments/39348816/image2019-10-1_11-56-16.png images/download/attachments/39348816/image2019-10-1_11-56-47.png

images/download/attachments/39348816/image2019-10-1_11-59-21.png

The reset password function is disabled for active directory group.

Select Update Role to change the designated role of the selected users. In the pop-up dialog, select the new role from the drop-down menu and then click Update to confirm the selection.
images/download/attachments/39348816/image2019-10-1_15-13-45.png

For Active Directory Group, the role assigned to the group apply to all member users. If a user belongs to multiple groups with different roles (for example. both Administrator and Read-Only), the role with the higher privilege applies (Administrator in this case).

If a user with Administrator role demotes their roles to Read-Only, they will be immediately logged out of the session.

Select Delete to remove an existing users. In the pop-up dialog, select Delete again to confirm the selection.

images/download/attachments/39348816/image2019-10-1_15-25-52.png

The currently logged-in user cannot delete themselves, even if they have administrative access to user management.

An action performed against a user group applies to all member users.